The diagnosing phase requires a nurse to use critical thinking. In addition to knowing the nursing diagnoses and their definitions, the nurse becomes aware of defining characteristics and behaviours of the diagnoses, related factors to the diagnoses, and the interventions suited for treating the diagnoses.

A nursing diagnosis may be a piece of the nursing process and is a clinical judgment about individual, family, or network encounters/reactions to actual or potential health problems/life processes. Nursing diagnoses are created in view of information acquired amid the nursing assessment

Factors are recognized which can block and significantly impact this analytic procedure, even to the disservice of the patient’s welfare.  Recommendations are offered all through the discourse which may assist the nurse in developing more compelling and exact clinical basic leadership procedures.

Different Types of Nursing Diagnosis

There are four types of nursing diagnosis. Let’s consider them individually.

1) Actual Diagnosis

The first type is an actual diagnosis, which identifies a current health problem, such as inadequate airway clearance as evidenced by the inability to maintain adequate oxygenation on room air.

In this diagnosis will reflect a clinical judgment concerning an undesirable human response to health conditions or life processes that exist in a patient.

Examples of actual nursing diagnoses include:

  • Sleep deprivation related to pain
  • Impaired bed mobility related to left-sided paralysis

2) Wellness Diagnosis

The second type of nursing diagnosis is the wellness diagnosis.  A wellness diagnosis identifies a patient’s readiness to transition to a higher wellness level, such as readiness for enhanced self-care to increase cardiac output related to increased cardiac output due to pacemaker insertion.

Examples of wellness nursing diagnoses include:

  • Sedentary lifestyle
  • Risk-prone behaviour
  • Readiness for enhanced immunization status
  • Readiness for enhanced nutrition

3) Risk Diagnosis

The third type of diagnosis is the risk nursing diagnosis

A risk diagnosis identifies when a patient could be at risk for additional health problems, such as infection. It describes human responses to health conditions/life processes that may develop in a vulnerable individual/family/community.

Examples of risk nursing diagnosis include:

  • The Risk for infection
  • Risk for falls
  • Risk for SIDS
  • A risk for a shock.

4) Syndrome diagnosis

The fourth and final nursing diagnosis is the syndrome diagnosis. A syndrome diagnosis determines symptoms based on certain situations, such as post-trauma syndrome or relocation stress syndrome.

This clinical judgment describes particular gatherings of diagnosis that occur together in a pattern and are best addressed together through similar nursing interventions.

Examples of syndrome nursing diagnosis include:

  • Relocation stress syndrome
  • A risk for decreased cardiac tissue perfusion
  • Ineffective cerebral tissue perfusion